oh no, tomato bugs!

So the first pest has struck! Tiny holes have started to appear in some of the tomato leaves, and the leaves of the eggplant and ground cherries as well.  I noticed that there are tiny black bugs on the plants that jump/fly away when I get close.  I did some googling, and I think they might be flea beetles.

Here are some pictures:

I found a homemade insect repellant recipe online, and I mixed it up tonight.  Here’s the recipe I followed:

1 med onion, diced up very small.
6 cloves of garlic
1 tbs of hot pepper flakes or as much as you want to use
1 tbs of dish liquid. not antibacterial
1 qt. of water

Let it sit over night. 24 hrs is better. Strain pour into a spray bottle. You can buy them at the dollar tree. Soak the leaves early in the morning or very late at night. You have to reapply after watering or rain.

I got the recipe from the I dig my garden forum. Someone else was having a similar issue, and this recipe was recommended.  I found a few other recipes elsewhere, but I liked this one because it combined a lot of the recommended ingredients (onions, garlic, hot pepper).  I actually added another teaspoon cayenne pepper for good measure. I will let you know how it works out.  I’m probably going to have to reapply many times, because we are still watering with the overhead sprinkler (waiting for seedlings to come up).

Leave a Reply

